Sewanhaka ed board honors district’s brightest

Sewanhaka ed board honors district’s brightest
Floral Park Memorial High School salutatorian Italia Gorski is pictured with board of education trustees Douglas Vigo and Laura Ferone, and Principal Jason Martin. (Photo courtesy of Sewanhaka Central High School District)

Class of 2018 valedictorians and salutatorians from across the Sewanhaka Central High School District were revered at the Board of Education meeting on Feb. 27.

The scholars were introduced by their respective school principals, who provided information on their academic, extracurricular and volunteer activities. Elmont Memorial valedictorian is Dominique Browne and salutatorian is Laila Choudhry, Floral Park Memorial valedictorian is Sammy Huang and salutatorian is Italia Gorski, H. Frank Carey valedictorian is Dean Macchia and salutatorian is Alyssa Cassese, New Hyde Park Memorial valedictorian is Arianna Ragusa and salutatorian is Saumya Sharma, and Sewanhaka High School valedictorian is Arianna is Vandezande and salutatorian Adrian-James Gevero.

New Hyde Park Memorial High School valedictorian Arianna Ragusa is pictured with, fromleft, Principal Richard Faccio, and trustee James Reddan and President David Del Santo.
(Photo courtesy of Sewanhaka Central High School District)

Each student received a standing ovation from those in attendance. They were also presented with certificates before being commended by Superintendent = Ralph Ferrie.

“This is a major accomplishment in your high school career. Nothing that is worth celebrating is accomplished without enduring tests of personal strength and commitment, which obviously each of you have,” Ferrie said. “We are proud of your accomplishments and we are confident that you’ll take the lessons learned at your high schools wherever your life’s journey will take you.”

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here