Long Island Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame announces April events

Long Island Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame announces April events

The Long Island Music and Entertainment Hall of Fame, located at 97 Main St., Stony Brook, New York announced its April 2023 music event line up. Most events during regular museum hours are free with purchase of general admission ticket. For more details please visit https://www.limusichalloffame.org/events/

On April 2 the Toby Tobias Ensemble will be performing from 3-4 p.m.

On April 16, The Como Brothers will be performing from 3-4 p.m.

On April 23 David Bennett Cohen will be performing from 3-4 p.m.

On April 30  Somehow Sorry will be performing from 3-4 p.m.


Born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa, Huntington Station-based Toby Tobias has immersed himself in many genres of American music while never leaving behind his roots in the rhythms and melodies of his homeland. His keen ear for intuitive arrangements is a hallmark of his writing and performance, and he has garnered a strong following on Long Island and in the tri-state area. The Toby Tobias Ensemble consists of some of the best musicians on Long Island and performing at LIMEHoF will be:

Toby Tobias / Acoustic Guitar and Vocals
Bill Titus / Electric Guitar and Vocals
Glenn Palermo / Bass
Andy Witt / Drums
Michael Amendola / Tenor Saxophone

About The Como Brothers

Matt and Andrew Como are musicians (singers, songwriters and performers) from Long Island who are passionate about songwriting, creating heartfelt lyrics and recording original music. Combining a pop and rock easy listening sound with a blues vibe, they have written and recorded multiple albums and EP’s of original songs. Their latest songs have been recorded with Grammy nominated engineer Kenta Yonesaka at Germano Studios in New York City. Matt and Andrew have toured the East Coast performing at venues such as the Hard Rock Café and The Cutting Room in New York City along with performances around the country from Hollywood, California to Texas’ South by Southwest, as well as Florida, Boston, New York City and more.

Matt and Andrew have had songs being featured in TV shows such as E! Network’s “Keeping Up with the Kardashians,” MTV’s “The Real World” and The Oxygen Channel’s “Best Ink” and on global in-store playlists for H&M, Zara, Pull Bear among others. Their videos have been playlisted in U.S. stores like Walmart, Costco, BJs and others.  The Como Brothers have established themselves as singer-songwriters working with industry legends such as drummer Steve Jordan (who performed with John Mayer, the Saturday Night Live band and Late Night with David Letterman), keyboardist Andy Burton (who was in Little Stephen & the Disciples of Soul), Aaron Sterling (Taylor Swift) and many more.

About David Bennett Cohen

David Bennett Cohen has been a professional musician for more than 60 years. Best known for his innovative keyboard playing as an original founding member of the ’60’s rock band, Country Joe and the Fish, he is an equally accomplished guitar player who has been involved in numerous music scenes throughout his varied career.

David began his musical education at the age of seven, studying classical piano for seven years. While studying the piano, he began to teach himself the guitar, beginning at the age of 12. When he was about 14, he heard boogie-woogie piano for the first time and was hooked. Since then, he has explored many different styles of blues and popular music. He was fortunate enough to have heard Otis Spann, Professor Longhair, Johnnie Johnson and other masters of the genre perform live.

Over the years, he has played and/or recorded with The Blues Project, Mick Taylor, The Luther Tucker Blues Band, Hubert Sumlin, Melvin Van Peebles, Happy and Artie Traum, Arlen Roth, Eric Anderson, David Blue, Tim Hardin, Norton Buffalo, Jerry Miller, Jimi Hendrix, Johnny Winter, Buddy Miles, John Cippolina, Huey Lewis, Michael Bloomfield, Bob Weir, John Kahn, Johnnie Johnson, Jimmy Vivino, Jay Owens, Debbie Davies, Byther Smith, Bobby Kyle, Rocky Lawrence, Johnny B. Gayden, Sandra Feva and many others.

As a solo performer, he has shared the bill with Country Joe McDonald, Kenny Rankin, Bonnie Raitt, Richard Thompson, Jerry Garcia, Leo Kottke, Rufus Thomas, Meatloaf, Booker T., The Roches, Kingfish, J. Giles and Magic Dick and many others.

About Somehow Sorry

Somehow Sorry are an American rock band formed on Long Island, New York. Their lineup consists of singer and guitarist Raine McCarthy, guitarist and singer John McCarthy, bass guitarist Robert Jay and drummer James Bosko.

Jay and Bosko’s influential playing styles rounded out to be a solid rhythm section for Somehow Sorry. John McCarthy’s guitar technique has created and has developed their unique sound. John and Rain’s voices, when combined, puts the signature on this project – with their harmonistic style to the lead vocals.

They are influenced by many rock and folk-rock bands, and their songs receive regular exposure.

​Somehow Sorry developed from an earlier group, called D’Vine Ryte who toured extensively in the U.S. D’Vine Ryte, established themselves as part of the hard rock era of the late ’80’s and ’90’s and was signed to the Road Runner Records Label.

John and Raine McCarthy are noted for the “When Album” under the group D’Vine Ryte 1994. A seven song demo recorded at Modern Voices Records 1997 under recording artist John & Rain. “Fit to Be Tied” is a full length album recorded 2007 at Modern Voices Records, and it is the first release under the artist’s name Somehow Sorry – recorded with James Bosko on Drums and Paul Maugeri on Bass.

Their most recent release “Same Great Taste” is a full-length album recorded in 2021. Released under Rain Arts and Entertainment – the band’s independent label. It features nine original songs and one re-make.

Festival appearances at Woman’s Rights to Rock, Lilith Fair, Woodstock Revival and the CCAR Recovery Fest established their reputation as a respected rock act. Additionally, they have been supporting artist for many national rock acts including, Warrant, Nino Betancourt and Missing Persons.

The band consists of:

John McCarthy – Lead Vocal and Electric Guitar.

Raine McCarthy – Lead Vocal and Acoustic Guitar

Jimmy Bosko – Drums and Backing Vocals

Robert Jay – Bass Guitar

WEBSITE: https://www.SomehowSorry.com

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here