DeSena running for re-election, challenged by Kaiman

DeSena running for re-election, challenged by Kaiman
North Hempstead Supervisor Jennifer DeSena is running for re-election. She is challenged by Democrat Jon Kaiman. (Photo courtesy of the Town of North Hempstead)

North Hempstead Supervisor Jennifer DeSena will be vying for her seat again as she faces former Town Supervisor Jon Kaiman, a Democrat, in November, according to the Nassau County Board of Elections.

DeSena is a registered Democrat who caucuses with Republicans. She was elected to office in November 2021, which marked her first time serving in an elected position.

“I look forward to comparing my record of cutting taxes, increasing transparency, and fighting to reform our Building Department with Mr. Kaiman’s, who during his time as supervisor, raised taxes, increased debt, and saddled the Town with many long-term issues we are still dealing with to this very day,” DeSena said previously in a statement to Blank Slate Media.

Kaiman announced his bid on March 7, alongside Councilwoman Veronica Lurvey for town receiver of taxes, incumbent Councilmembers Peter Zuckerman and Mariann Dalimonte and newcomer Christine Liu on the Democrat Party ticket.

“I’m looking at this as moving forward and applying what I am and what I have become to this new world of local government. which has evolved over the years since I was last town supervisor,” Kaiman previously told Blank Slate Media. “It’s about coming into this with fresh eyes and we have a really good team of people with experience on this ticket.”

Kaiman, a Great Neck resident, currently serves as Suffolk’s deputy county executive, a position he has held since 2017. Suffolk Executive Steve Bellone has served in his current role since 2012 and is term-limited from running for the position again in this year’s elections.

Kaiman previously ran for New York’s 3rd Congressional District last year. He finished second in the August Democratic primary behind Robert Zimmerman, who was later defeated by Republican George Santos in the general election.

Lurvey will be leaving her current seat as a council member to run for town receiver of taxes. She will be running against Flower Hill trustee Mary Jo Collins.

The current receiver of taxes Charles Berman, a Democrat who has served in the position since 2010, is not seeking re-election.

Lurvey has represented the town’s 4th District as its council member since January 2019. She was appointed to fill the vacant seat and then elected for a four-year term in November 2019. Prior to her work in local government, Lurvey was a practicing attorney for more than 15 years at Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP.

Lurvey is no longer a resident of the 4th District after new redistricting maps were finalized last year.

Lurvey’s public service efforts began before she took office. ​​She co-founded and became co-president of North Shore Action, a non-partisan community action group that advocated for social issues, including anti-gun violence, mental health issues and environmental protection.

Mary Jo Collins, the Republican candidate running for town receiver of taxes, has served on the Flower Hill Board of Trustees since June 2020. She was re-elected for another term as trustee in March.

In tandem with her work in public service, Collins has worked on Wall Street for 40 years predominantly in fixed income.

She previously told Blank Slate Media that some of her notable work has included repaving and updating drainage on Middle Neck Road, modernizing the village’s records, additional parking spaces in the village and increasing transparency between the village and its residents, something she helped achieve in collaboration with the rest of the board.

The town’s 2nd District council member Zuckerman will be seeking re-election, challenged by Albertson water commissioner Edward Scott.

Zuckerman has served as the town’s 2nd District council member since January 2014 when he was appointed to the position. Previously he was a trustee for the Village of East Hills for 11 years, where he grew up and now lives with his family.

In tandem with his career in public service, Zuckerman also is a practicing attorney. He is a partner in the Uniondale-based firm of Peter Zuckerman, Attorney, P.C.

Scott, the Republican candidate and retired NYPD officer, has served as the Albertson water commissioner since 2021. He also served as president of the Albertson Square Civic Association.

Liu, a community liaison for state Assemblywoman Gina Sillitti (D-Port Washington), will be running for the seat left vacant by Lurvey.

She is facing Republican candidate James Gounaris, president of the Herricks Board of Education. He is also the director of food and nutrition services at the Great Neck Public Schools.

Dalimonte, the 6th District council member, is running for re-election and will be challenged by Republican candidate David Franklin.

Dalimonte, a 4th-generation Port Washington resident, has been the district’s council member since 2020. Prior to her work in public office, she was also executive director of the Greater Port Washington Business Improvement District, director of development of now Residents Forward and served in various Home School Association positions.

Franklin, the Republican candidate, is the deputy commissioner for the Nassau County Parks, Recreation and Museums Department. He previously was the Port Washington police commissioner for nine years.

Franklin ran in 2020 for New York State Senate’s 7th District, losing in the general election to Democrat Anna Kaplan.

Election Day will be on Nov. 7. All candidates are subject to change, according to the Board of Elections.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here