Only incumbents run in three Great Neck village elections

Only incumbents run in three Great Neck village elections
The villages in Great Neck held uncontested elections Tuesday with only incumbents running for re-election. (Photo courtesy of Flickr)

Three Great Neck villages will be holding elections this June, with all three hosting uncontested races with just incumbents running for the open positions.

The villages of Great Neck, Kings Point and Lake Success will be holding elections June 18.

No challengers filed for candidacy in the three elections. While only incumbents will be on the ballot, voters can write in candidates on their ballot.

Great Neck

Two trustee seats are up for election in the Village of Great Neck. Deputy Mayor Barton Sobel and Trustee Eli Kashi will be running for re-election to these two seats.

Both are running in an uncontested election.

The two trustee positions are for a two-year term on the board. Both Sobel and Kashi faced their last election in 2022 where they defeated challenger Sam Yellis.

Sobel is a Great Neck-based attorney who has served on the Board of Trustees since 2010. His prior service includes on a parks citizen advisory board, the village Planning Board and the Friends of the Great Neck Parks group.

Kashi is a local business owner who has served on the board since 2020.

The Village of Great Neck election will be held from 7 a.m. until 9 p.m. on June 18 at the Great Neck House, located at 14 Arrandale Ave.

Kings Point

The Village of Kings Point will vote for a mayor and two trustees in the June election, with only the incumbents running for the positions.

Mayor Kouros “Kris” Torkan, Trustee Tedi Kashinejad and Trustee Shahriar Victory will be seeking re-election to the board.

Torkan, the founder of the real estate company Villadom Corp., ran unopposed in the villages’ 2022 election to replace former Mayor Michael Kalnick. Kalnick did not run for re-election.

He was first appointed to the board in 2019 to fill a vacancy left by former Trustee Ron Horowitz.

Kashinejad and Victory were both elected to the board in 2022 when they ran unopposed.

The Kings Point election will be held from noon until 9 p.m. on June 18 at Village Hall, located at 32 Steppingstone Lane.

Lake Success

Five elected seats will be featured on the Village of Lake Success’ ballot on June 18, with only incumbents running.

Mayor Adam Hoffman, Trustee Spyro Dimitratos, Trustee Robert Gal, Trustee Fred Handsman and Village Justice ​​Mark Mermel.

The election will be held from noon until 9 p.m. on June 18 at Village Hall, located at 318 Lakeville Road.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here