Rosenbaum’s victory in Flower Hill headlines Roslyn elections

Rosenbaum’s victory in Flower Hill headlines Roslyn elections
The Village of Flower Hill's Board of Trustees will have a new mayor after its March 15 elections. (Photo from the Island 360 archives)

Flower Hill Deputy Mayor Randall Rosenbaum won his uncontested race to replace Brian Herrington as mayor of the village on Tuesday.

Rosenbaum received 135 votes, while Herrington, who ran unopposed for a two-year trustee term, received 132 votes. Incumbent trustees Claire Dorfman and Gary Lewandowski also ran unopposed for re-election and received 132 and 133 votes, respectively.

Herrington said new developments in his professional life led him to hand the reins to Rosenbaum.

“It has been an honor to serve the residents of Flower Hill as Mayor,” Herrington said. “I recently accepted a promotion from my employer which has expanded my professional responsibilities and is taking a greater toll on my time. Given my first priority is to my family, this now leaves me with an inadequate time to dedicate to the Village and has led me to the decision to take a step back from Mayor.”

Herrington was appointed mayor following the death of longtime Mayor Robert McNamara in April 2020.  Following Herrington’s appointment as mayor, Dorfman was chosen to fill Herrington’s trustee position and won her first election last year for a one-year term on the board.

Herrington defeated challenger and former Trustee Kate Hirsch in the 2020 election that was postponed to September due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The elections saw Hirsch challenge the Flower Hill Party’s petition with the aim of having it thrown out, only for the Nassau County Board of Elections to rule in the party’s favor. Hirsch then filed an ethics complaint against Flower Hill’s chief election officer, village Administrator Ronnie Shatzkamer, alleging that she was assisting the Flower Hill Party in its campaign, with both Shatzkamer and Herrington denying the allegations.

Herrington later released an email sent by Hirsch offering to drop her campaign in July in exchange for the dismissal of village staff members and the dropping of harassment charges against her.

Herrington also received two write-in votes for mayor and Hirsch received one write-in vote for trustee, village officials said.

In the Village of Roslyn, Deputy Mayor Marshall Bernstein was re-elected to another two-year term with 77 votes. Craig Westergard, who ran uncontested alongside Bernstein, was re-elected with 67 votes. Bernstein and Westergard have been on the board since 1995 and 2000, respectively.

Saul Klein, who was running for the village justice spot held by Andrew Weitz since 2014, was elected with 61 votes. Weitz did not seek re-election.

Election results for Roslyn were certified Tuesday night at the Board of Trustees meeting.

In Roslyn Estates, Trustees Stephen Fox and Brian Feingold were re-elected with 25 and 24 votes, respectively. The two were elected to the board in 2020 and will serve a two-year term.

In Roslyn Harbor, Trustees James Friscia and Abby Kurlender were re-elected after running unopposed. Associate Village Justice Charles Parisi was elected to the village justice position, succeeding  Timothy O’Rourke, who did not seek re-election.

Contributing reporting by Robert Pelaez. 

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here