Dozens of Great Neck school retirees recognized

Dozens of Great Neck school retirees recognized
Great Neck Public School retirees were recognized by the Board of Education and the district’s professional associations. (Photo by Irwin Mendlinger)

The Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education and professional associations representing teachers, administrators, and civil service staff recognized 63 district employees who retired during the 2017-18 school year.

Retiring principals are: Sharon Fougner of E.M. Baker, Debra Shalom of Parkville, and James Welsch of South Middle.

North Middle School teachers retiring include: John Amato, Kathleen Andrews, Maura Carroll, Iris DeFilippo, Margo Christofer, Hedda Blitz, Victor Starsky, John Schneidmuller, Debra Manoff, and Michele Parker.

North High School teachers are: Michelle Boone, Gary Cohen, Merryl Mandler and Susanne Marcus.

South Middle School teachers retiring include: Beth Cahn, Wendy Gerstein, Arlene Gerber, Ellen Goltzer, Amy Kaplan, Sandi Rosenzweig-Cooper, Shelly Wilcox, and Susan Zucker.

South High School teachers who are retiring include: Richard Ehrlich, Lynda Good, Judith McClellan, Carol Nesdill, Vicki Solomon, and Thomas Umstatter.

Amalie Kempton is retiring from John F. Kennedy Elementary School, while Diane Levine is retiring from Lakeville Elementary School.

Nurses Regina Friedman and Kira Warren retired from the department of Pupil Personnel Services.

Retiring from the Adult Basic Education program are Edith Rudorfe and Sheila Bet.

Retiring office staff include: Laurie Ann Bahna (Adult Learning Center), Arleen Blitz (North Middle), Paula Capobianco (Phipps), Joann Claus (North Middle), Linda Cornwell (Phipps), Margaret Mahoney (South High), Nancy Marmo (SEAL), Louise O’Connell-Carmiciano (Saddle Rock), Joyce Paseltiner (Cumberland), Jeanne Pugliese (South Middle), and Nanette Virgilio (South High).

Paraprofessionals who are retiring are: Nora Berry (Parkville), Diana Chu (South Middle), Paula Discount (North Middle), Victoria Gandolfi (Kennedy), Diane Graham (South Middle), Jerry Laskin (South Middle), Mary Jane Lazzinnaro (Parkville), Audrey O’Neill (North Middle), Ivette Pelley (North Middle), Gabriele Schmitt (North High), and Monica White (Lakeville).

Retirees from the Transportation Department are Helene Blondell and Paul Rose. Michael Petrelli (North Middle) retired from Buildings & Grounds, and AnnaMaria Valenzano retired from the Food and Nutrition program.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here