GNPS/TV wins seven awards in PSA contest

GNPS/TV wins seven awards in PSA contest
Robert Zahn and award-winning students from GNPS/TV are congratulated by musician Meredith O’Connor and Rene Fiechter, an assistant district attorney and the director of community affairs at an awards ceremony on June 4. (Photo by Anna Zahn)

Great Neck Public Schools Television (GNPS/TV) is the recipient of seven awards, including Best Overall Video, through the Long Island Youth Safety Coalition (LIYSC) High School Public Service Announcement Video Contest, sponsored by the Nassau County District Attorney’s Office. Winners were recognized during an awards ceremony at the Morrelly Homeland Security Center in Bethpage on June 4.

This video contest encouraged high school students across Nassau County to create public service announcements based on five topics that pertain to youth and schools. Contest entries from GNPS/TV were created by South High School students enrolled in the Advanced Filmmaking class under the direction of Robert Zahn, director of educational television and broadcast media.

The Nassau County District Attorney’s Office evaluated more than 60 submissions and awarded first, second, and third-place for each category. GNPS/TV was announced as the winner of six awards in the Mental Health, School Gun Safety, and Violence Against Young Women categories.

Additionally, the first-place video in the Mental Health category, “Fine: Know the Signs and Get Help,” was awarded Best Overall Video, the highest award in the PSA contest.

GNPS/TV awards and student creators are listed below.

Mental Health

Best Overall Video and First place: “Fine: Know the Signs and Get Help,” by Yang Wang, Jongwon Kim, Alexander Jasen, Seungmin (Samuel) Roh, and Gordon Zhang.

Third place: “Don’t Cope Alone,” by Grace Song, Rosanna Gao, Karthika Nair, and Phoebe Smith.

School Gun Safety

First place: “School Gun Safety: Know the Procedure,” by Jamie Brown, Maya Porshian, Abigail Lee, and Ryan Chen.

Second place: “School Gun Safety: Be Aware,” by Katherine Chian, Ethan Jiang, Andrew Lee, and Spencer Lee.

Violence Against Young Women

First place: “Respect Women,” by Katherine Chian, Ethan Jiang, Andrew Lee, and Spencer Lee.

Third place: “Girls Are Not Toys,” by Abisa Osei-Amankwah, Sarah Bernstein, Jack Lenga, Luqing Ni, and Derek Yu.

During the awards ceremony on June 4, winners were applauded by Nassau County District Attorney Madeline Singas, representatives from the District Attorney’s Office, and pop singer Meredith O’Connor.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here