Great Neck school board grants tenure to 23

Great Neck school board grants tenure to 23

The Great Neck Public Schools Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the superintendent, recently granted tenure to 23 teachers.

Board President Barbara Berkowitz called the granting of tenure a “very big deal here in Great Neck.” She joined with the candidates’ gathered families and friends to “acknowledge, celebrate, and applaud their accomplishments.” She said that the candidates had “exceeded the toughest standards.”

Superintendent Teresa Prendergast “strongly recommended” each candidate having first met individually with each of them.

Over the course of two Board of Education meetings, principals spoke on behalf of the candidates they were recommending for tenure, expressing common themes: candidates are passionate about their work, they bring out the best in their students, they engage their students and help them to love to learn.

During the Board meeting on June 4, tenure was granted to twelve educators at the elementary level: Kristin Eberhardt, Kristen Pappas, and Nicole Viscomi at Baker School; Lauren Heck and Kelly Rosario at Kennedy School; Stephanie Bailyn, Jennifer Seiden, Jaclyn Sharoni, and Julie Smith at Lakeville School; Staci Solomon at Parkville School; and Meredith Moss and Colleen Guarneiri at Saddle Rock School.

At the Board meeting on June 18, tenure was granted to eleven educators at the secondary level: Brendan Nelson, Cinthia Serowik, and Rachael Weissman at North Middle; Carla Diesu, Joshua Dugan, Elena Gaeta, and Justin Lander at South Middle; Christina Keys at North High; and Margaret Dunne, Lisa Todisco, and Andrea Zinn at South High.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here