Happening at the Great Neck School District

Happening at the Great Neck School District

Four Great Neck seniors announced as U.S. Presidential Scholar candidates

The U.S. Department of Education has announced four seniors from the Great Neck Public Schools as candidates in the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. This year’s candidates include Benjamin Rubin from North High School, and Amit Saha, Joy Yang and Richard Zhuang from South High School.

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. Application for this program is by invitation only.

Candidates must submit essays, self-assessments, secondary school reports, and transcripts to be considered further. A distinguished panel of educators will review the submissions and select approximately 600 semifinalists in early April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of up to 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, will select the finalists, and the U.S. Department of Education will announce the Scholars in May.

Annually, up to 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars are chosen from among that year’s senior class, representing excellence in education and the promise of greatness in America’s youth. Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize some of our nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in many areas: academic success, leadership, and service to school and community. It was expanded in 1979 to recognize students demonstrating exceptional scholarship and talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. In 2015, the program was expanded once again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical fields.

South High chamber music recital

The public is warmly welcomed to attend a Chamber Music Recital at South High School on Thursday, Feb. 16, at 7:30 p.m. The evening will feature performances by three South High student ensembles that have been selected as winners of the 2023 Young Musicians Program Long Island Regional High School Chamber Music Competition, sponsored by the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center.

Ensembles include: Hugh Choi (flute), Sarah Sun (alto saxophone), and Selena Lu (piano) performing Épitaphe de Jean Harlow, Op. 164, by Charles Koechlin; Dylan Kim (violin I), Drew Kim (violin II), Laura Zhang (viola), Victoria Lin (cello I), and Erin Wong (cello II) performing String Quintet, Op. 39, by Aleksandr Glazunov; and Dayoung Yu (violin I), Sidney Wong (violin II), Sebastian Lennox (viola), and Jillian Chang (cello) performing String Quartet in G Minor, Op. 27, by Edvard Grieg.

The South High chamber music program is coordinated by Michael Schwartz, performing arts department head/instrumental music teacher, and Dr. Janine Robinson, vocal music teacher. For more information about the Chamber Music Recital, contact Mr. Schwartz at [email protected].

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here