Lavine joins POB board of ed against Santos’ call for AR-15 as national gun

Lavine joins POB board of ed against Santos’ call for AR-15 as national gun
Assemblymember Charles Lavine (D-North Shore). (Photo courtesy of the New York State Assembly)

Assemblymember Charles Lavine (D-North Shore) is expressing support for the Plainview-Old Bethpage Board of Education’s letter to Congressman George Santos requesting that he withdraw his proposal to have the AR-15 named the national gun of the United States.

“Your proposed legislation to make the AR-15 the National Gun promotes the very weapon which has been often used to cause death and destruction to our nation’s schools,” the board tells Santos in the letter sent last week. “Co-sponsoring a bill that glorifies this semiautomatic rifle will only serve to glorify what has become the weapon of choice for mass shootings in schools, what should be a sacred place where students and educators feel safe.”

Lavine issued the following statement in response to the board’s letter:

“I could not be more disgusted by Congressman Santos’ crude and shameful proposal and wholeheartedly support the POB Board of Education’s sentiments. We need to end gun violence, not promote it. The signing into law of the Scott J. Beigel Unfinished Receiver Act, which bans the sale and possession of ghost guns which I sponsored in the Assembly, is one of the proudest moments of my career. The most recent mass shootings at a school in Nashville and a bank in Louisville are just the latest daily and deadly reminders of the ongoing need for strong but sensible gun legislation, something I will continue to fight for in the Assembly.”

“I thought we had decided to put an end to sacrificing the lives of our precious little children in the days of Abraham.”

Assemblymember Charles Lavine represents New York’s 13th Assembly District in Nassau County. He presently serves as chair of the Judiciary Committee and is a member of the Committee on Codes, Ethics and Guidance, Rules and Insurance. Lavine previously served as chair of the Election Law Committee, chair of the Committee on Ethics and Guidance, co-chair of the New York State Legislative Ethics Commission and as chair of the bipartisan taskforce that produced the Assembly speaker’s policy on sexual harassment, retaliation and discrimination.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here