Tri-M chapters welcome new honorary members

Tri-M chapters welcome new honorary members
Honorary Lifetime Members Rebecca Sassouni, Dr. Sheila Terens, Barbara Berkowitz, Donna Peirez, and Jeffrey Shi are congratulated by North High Music Booster Chairs Robin Schlusselberg and Nancy Notar-Francesco, North High Performing and Fine Arts Department Head Pamela Levy, North High Principal Daniel Holtzman, Tri-M Chapter 2605 Co-Presidents Michael Cohenmehr, Samuel Calto, Molly Racsko, and Christopher Lu, North Middle Music Department Head Matthew Trinkwald, North Middle Principal Gerald Cozine and North High Tri-M Advisor Joseph Rutkowski. (Photo courtesy of Great Neck Public Schools)

On May 2, North High School Chapter 2605 and North Middle Junior Chapter 5695 of the Tri-M Music Honor Society hosted their annual induction ceremony, recognizing high school and middle school students who demonstrate scholarship, musicianship, and leadership. The ceremony welcomed more than 40 members to the music honor society.

Student officers of Chapter 2605 also extended Honorary Lifetime Memberships to seven individuals for their support and outstanding contributions to the school’s music programs. This year’s honorees are: Board of Education President Barbara Berkowitz; Board Vice President Donald Ashkenase; Board Trustees Donna Peirez, Rebecca Sassouni, and Jeffrey Shi; former Board member Lawrence Gross; and retired Assistant Superintendent Dr. Sheila Terens.

The induction ceremony was led by Tri-M Advisor Joseph Rutkowski and 2018-19 Tri-M Co-Presidents Samuel Calto, Michael Cohenmehr, Christopher Lu, and Molly Racsko. The program also included the installation of officers for 2019-20: Aayush Bagul, Daniel Choi, Elizabeth Margiloff, Jonathan Moalemi, Arabella Notar-Francesco, Cheongjun Oh, Nina Phillips, Katherine Smolens, Mark Xu, Matthew Xu, Madeline Yang, and Daniel Zeng.

The Tri-M Music Honor Society, a program of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), recognizes students for their efforts and accomplishments in music on the basis of musicianship, scholarship, character, leadership, and service to their school and community. The organization’s high standards serve to challenge students to greater efforts and achievements and to encourage the pursuit of excellence.

The Tri-M chapters of North High and North Middle encourage participation in music programs and service to the Great Neck community through a variety of endeavors, including performances at local nursing homes, children’s hospitals, and seasonal events. Chapter 2605 at North High boasts more than 20 years of outstanding service, including recognition as the National Association for Music Education (NAfME) “Chapter of the Year” for the 2017-18 school year.

Music faculty at North High and North Middle include: Fine and Performing Arts Department Head  Pamela Levy and Joseph Rutkowski at North High and Department Head Matthew Trinkwald, Andrew DeNise, Arielle Murdocco, and Anthony Virgilio at North Middle.


No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here