Six Port students Merit Scholarship semifinalist

Six Port students Merit Scholarship semifinalist

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation on Thursday named six Paul D. Schreiber High School students as National Merit semifinalists.

Sophia Andreadis, Hannah Ericsson, Ilana Hill, Maria Kogan, Robert Konoff and Zachary Miller all received the honor, which is awarded to 16,000 high school students nationwide, a news release said.

“Once again Schreiber High School has produced an impressive number of semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program,” said Superintendent of Schools Kathleen Mooney.

The semifinalists will compete for approximately 7,500 scholarships worth more than $33 million, the release said. 

Semifinalists qualified for the scholarships by scoring “among the highest in the state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test in 2015, including the top 1 percent nationally,” the release said.

According to the organization’s website, semifinalists make it to the next round by having a good academic record, writing an essay, receiving recommendations from school officials and achieving a high SAT score.

Out of the 16,000 semifinalists, 15,000 will advance to the next round of judging. 

The release said finalists will be announced in February and winners in the spring.

“This is a testament to these students’ hard work and the support they receive in school, at home and from our entire community,” Mooney said. “To be named to the top 1 percent in the country is a special accomplishment. I congratulate them and wish them well throughout the remainder of the competition, and in all of their future endeavors.”

By Stephen Romano

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here