National Merit Scholarship semifinalists include 73 North Shore students

National Merit Scholarship semifinalists include 73 North Shore students
Great Neck Public Schools led the North Shore area with the most semifinalists for National Merit scholarships. (Photo courtesy of Great Neck Public Schools)

Seventy-three high school seniors from the North Shore were named National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists last week. 

They were among about 16,000 semifinalists across the nation and will have an opportunity to compete for around 7,500 scholarships valued at more than $30 million.

Of the 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to finalist status. Selection committees then begin choosing scholarship winners, with announcements beginning in April.

There are three types of scholarships: corporate-sponsored Merit scholarships, National Merit $2,500 scholarships and college-sponsored Merit scholarships.

The Great Neck area accounted for most of the North Shore’s semifinalists, with 31 attending Great Neck North and Great Neck South high schools.

Amaar Alwani, Karly Chan, Rena Z. Chen, Iris Cho, Farah Daredia, Amy He, Sophia E. Hunter, Eden L. Katz, Jeremy N. Kotlyar, Andre Lungu, Matthew A. Moy, Matthew R. Tsui, Alexander Voses, Isabel Z. Wang, Katherine Y. Wang, Ross J. Williams, Jansen C. Wong, Mengyu A. Wu, John Xie, Rick Xu and Erin Yim from South High were named semifinalists.

Victoria W. Guan, Shifan He, Joshua Li, Claire Luo, Brandon M. Maher, Maya Slobin, Alicia L. Sun, Sahar Tartak, Kenneth D. Xiao and David Zang from North High were also named semifinalists.

The Manhasset and New Hyde Park areas had 13 seniors on the list, tied for second most on the North Shore.

Mir Zayid Alam, Ava J. Balacek, Joshua M. De Leeuw, Taylor G. Fox, Ben Glauner, Noemie S. Gomes-Jourdan, Ethan J. Horowitz, Sanjna Kedia, Sarah B. Kim, Michael A. Raybetz, Gwendolyn A. Seto, Emma Wang and Eric H. Wang represent the semifinalists from Manhasset High School.

Chloe Chang, Amber C. Joneleit, Wafiq I. Khondkar, Roshni Patel, Pranati Patnam, Lamiya Rangwala, Keneil Soni, Olivia Teng and Kyle Ye from Herricks were named semifinalists, as were Daniel S. Kim, Laurence M. Lai, Christopher Liu and Emma Ouyang from New Hyde Park Memorial High School.

Hannah P. Brooks, Abraham D. Franchetti, Natalie C. Parker, Talya J. Pecullan, Benjamin M. Schiff and Kevin H. Taylor from Paul D. Schreiber High School were Port Washington’s representatives.

Roslyn High School and the Wheatley School in Old Westbury each had four seniors on the list.

Jessica X. Chen, Daniel Liu, Harshita Sehgal and William R. Xu from the Roslyn area were named semifinalists.

Wheatley’s Charlotte G. Iannone, Siddhant A. Jain, Andrew Kim and Justin C. Wong also made the cut.

Andrew C. Hilton was Chaminade High School’s lone representative in the Mineola area, while Arielle E. Schor made the list for the Schechter School of Long Island in Williston Park.

Editor’s note: A previous version of this article was published and has since been edited for clarity.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here