Roslyn elections draw few residents to polls

Roslyn elections draw few residents to polls
(Photo courtesy of Village of Roslyn)

The uncontested elections in four Roslyn villages brought few residents to the polls, with two villages registering single-digit vote totals for candidates.

In Flower Hill, Mayor Robert McNamara received 54 votes.

Trustee Kate Hirsch received 49, Trustee Randall Rosenbaum received 48 and Gary Lewandowski received 48 votes.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the Flower Hill population in 2016 was 4,817.

McNamara was appointed to the position in December 2016 after state Sen. Elaine Phillips was elected to fill the 7th District seat.

In Roslyn Estates, Trustees Stephen Fox and Brian Feingold were re-elected with four votes each.

Fox was elected as a write-in candidate to replace Paul Peters when he transitioned to mayor last year.

According to the Census Bureau, the Roslyn Estates population in 2016 was 1,245.

In Roslyn Harbor, Trustees Sandy Quentzel and James Friscia were both re-elected with eight votes.

Quentzel was appointed to replace Cheryl Mora in 2012 and was elected in 2013.

Friscia was elected in 2012 after spending a few years on the village’s planning board.

Timothy O’Rourke, the former associate village justice, was also elected with eight votes to replace Justice Charles E. Parisi, who opted to retire.

According to the Census Bureau, the Roslyn Harbor population in 2016 was 1,098.

Results were not immediately available in Roslyn in the uncontested elections of Deputy Mayor Marshall Bernstein and Trustee Craig Westergard as well as village Justice Andrew Weitz.

Bernstein, who was originally elected to the seat in 1995, said this will likely be his last term.

Westergard was elected in 2000 and Weitz was elected in 2014.

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here