Roslyn re-elects Levine, Dubner, Seinfeld to board of education

Roslyn re-elects Levine, Dubner, Seinfeld to board of education
(From left to right) David Seinfeld, David Dubner and Michael Levine. (Photo courtesy of the Island 360 archives)

Roslyn re-elected board of education members Michael Levine, David Dubner and David Seinfeld, who all ran unopposed, and approved the district’s $132.6 million budget with nearly 73% of the vote in the Roslyn School District election Tuesday.

The budget, a 3.99% increase over the current year, received 517 votes in favor and 192 votes cast against. It includes a 2.79% tax levy increase, which falls within a tax cap set at 3.07%.

Two other propositions on the ballot were also passed.

One was for the purchase of school buses and vans, which garnered a 73.8% voter approval. The proposition received 511 approval votes and 181 votes against it.

The purchase of school buses and vans would include necessary equipment and be capped at $622,000. The amount is to be raised through bonds and taxes.

The other proposition was the Bryant Library budget of $5,165,450, which was passed with a 79.9% vote of the vote. The library budget received 565 votes in favor and 142 votes against.

In the unopposed races for trustee, Levine received 552 votes, Dubner received 541 votes and Seinfeld received 530 votes.

The three incumbents last faced voters 2021 when they were opposed by a single challenger, Roslyn resident Ronald Gerber.

They will all now serve another three-year term, which concludes June 30, 2027.

Levine is a lawyer who was elected to the board in 2018. He took over the seat formerly held by Trustee Adam Haber, who chose not to continue his service on the board and did not run for re-election.

Dubner is an investment banker at Goldman Sachs. He was appointed to the Board of Education in 2013 after former trustee Dani Kline resigned from her seat. Dubner was later elected to fulfill the remainder of her term.

Seinfeld is one of the board’s longest-serving trustees, having been first elected to the board in 2006. He is a veteran of educational services.


No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here